19 - Kathleen Ferrier Award winners

19 - Kathleen Ferrier Award winners

20 July 2017 11:00 am

Helmsley Arts Centre

19 - Kathleen Ferrier Award winners

Kathleen Ferrier Awardwinners

Gemma Summerfield (soprano)
Gareth Brynmor John (baritone)
Sebastian Wybrew (piano)

Mendelssohn – Neue Liebe
Mendelssohn – Die Liebende schreibt
Mendelssohn – Hexenlied
Brahms – Four Serious Songs
Bachelet – Chère Nuit
Poulenc – Deux poèmes de Louis aragon
Sibelius – Vilse
Sibelius – Flickan kom ifrån sin älsklings mote
Sibelius – Se’n har jag ej frågat mera
Tchaikovsky – At the Ball
Tchaikovsky – Don Juan’s Serenade
Rachmaninov – In the secret silence of the night
Mendelssohn – Six Duets (op. 63)

The annual competition commemorating Kathleen Ferrier is the country’s most prestigious award for singers. In a new partnership with the festival, two recent winners visit Ryedale to perform a varied programme that encompasses the graceful lyricism of Mendelssohn, deeply-felt songs to Biblical texts that Brahms composed in the last year of his life, and colourful and evocative songs from France, Russia and Scandinavia.

‘Gemma Summerfield...a show-stopper – pure vocal champagne’ – The Daily Telegraph 

‘Gareth Brynmor John’s clarity, warmth and even spread held us gripped from the beginning’ – The Times

Please note change of artist from that given in the brochure.  The festival looks forward to welcoming Sebastian Wybrew, who will be replacing Christopher Glynn as pianist for this concert.

Prices   Full - £12.00    Gold - £9.60    Silver - £10.80    Under 25s - £6.00

Please check with Box Office if no tickets available on line