17 - Truth’s Disguise lll

17 - Truth’s Disguise lll

19 July 2017 11:00 am

St Olave's Church

17 - Truth’s Disguise lll

Truth’s Disguise III

Shostakovich and Anna Akhmatova

Carducci Quartet
Alex Jennings (reader)

Brodsky – Elegy
Pushkin – Foreboding
Shostakovich – Quartet no. 10
Akhmatova – In vain you fling at my feet
Akhmatova – Inscription on a book
Shostakovich – Quartet no. 8

Pushkin’s proud words ‘Again I resolve to disdain destiny!’ express a vein of optimism and renewal that also surfaces in Shostakovich’s 10th Quartet, composed in ten days shortly after his second marriage. In contrast, Akhmatova’s words ‘Death stands on the threshold anyway, whether you summon it or send it away’ could stand as an epigraph for Shostakovich’s masterpiece, the 8th Quartet.

This is one of the great works of the 20th century, ‘music written with the heart’s blood’ and dedicated to the victims of fascism and war. ‘high-octane playing balanced control with devil-may care spontaneity’ – The Guardian

We are delighted that Alex Jennings has agreed to appear as reader in the four Truth's Disguise events, replacing  Simon Callow, who has had to withdraw. Simon Callow's talk 'Being Wagner' is unaffected and will go ahead as planned.

Prices   Full - £15.00    Gold - £12.00    Silver - £13.50    Under 25s - £7.5017